Health and Social Studies

Learning to be Extraordinary


The strength of our department is our continued success of achieving excellent results through our commitment, endeavour and passion for the subject. Our students consistently achieve or exceed their target grade.



This is a vocationally-related qualification that takes an engaging, practical and inspiring approach to learning and assessment. The Pearson’s BTEC qualification will equip students with a sound, specialist knowledge along with skills for everyday use. The hands-on approach reflects the way in which students use new technology and will underpin a highly valid method of assessing their skills for the many progression routes available. Students tell us that the faculty staff are friendly and welcoming and they thoroughly enjoy Health and Social Care because it will enable to follow a career of their dreams.  Despite an ever changing world, we will always need compassionate and kind carers!



The course has been designed to fit into the curriculum and form a key part a student’s Progress 8 and Attainment 8 approved subjects. There are three units: one examined and two internally assessed and externally moderated, comprising 50% for the exam and 25% for the other two units.  There are two exam sessions a year, with opportunities for resits and the best mark counts. Our students tell us that they thoroughly enjoy Child Development.  They tell us that they feel safe in the classroom and although the content is challenging they enjoy teaching and learning and look forward to attending the lessons.


Students are following the  Pearson’s BTEC Qualification in Health and Social Care.  The course has three mandatory components of study. The examination covers health and wellbeing.  There are two pieces of coursework ranging from topics such as Health and Social Care services and values to Human lifespan development. The work begins in Year 9.  There are important deadlines to work towards but formal assessments will be taken in Year 11.  The course is graded as pass, merit, distinction and distinction*.

Students are following the OCR Cambridge National Certificate in Child Development.  The course has three mandatory units of study.  The examination covers all areas of health and well-being for child development such as parenting, contraception, pregnancy, childhood illnesses and child safety.  The coursework covers topics such as nutritional needs and growth and development from birth to five years.  The work begins in Year 9.  There are important deadlines to work towards but formal assessments will be taken in Year 11.The course is graded is pass, merit, distinction and distinction*.


Health and Social Care (OCR Cambridge Technical 2016 Suite).

These courses are designed with the workplace in mind and provides a high-quality alternative to A Levels.  Vocational education is not just about results, it’s about educating students in the knowledge and skills required for employment and for the community as a whole.  The course will develop sound behaviour and attributes needed to progress and succeed in education and in work. Both courses are designed to develop the skills, knowledge and understanding required to enable progression to Higher Education Institutes.  Many students’ progress to study at University to pursue careers in Medicine, Social Care (Social Work) and Health Care (Midwifery).  UCAS points are awarded for the Pass, Merit and Distinction* qualifications.  Both qualifications are two year courses.


Mandatory Units include:

Unit 1 Building positive relationships in Health and Social Care

Unit 2 Equality, diversity and rights in Health and Social Care

Unit 3 Health, safety and security in Health and Social Care

Unit 4 Anatomy and physiology for Health and Social Care

Unit 5 Infection control


These qualifications will provide students with the skills, knowledge and understanding that will allow them to progress onto Higher Education on a Health and Social Care-related programme such as Health and Social Care, Nursing, Social Work or Early Childhood Studies.  It will also benefit students who would like to progress into Health and Social Care-related apprenticeships, or wish to gain a level 3 qualification to support further study in Further Education (FE) or progress to Higher Education (HE) in Health and Social Care.

Start typing and press Enter to search